Border OptionsHugging border, circle, square, or rectangle — with a 3mm satin stitch.
Backing OptionsAvailable with iron-on, sew-on, or velcro backing.
Fast ShippingShipped quickly from the USA.
Free Online Tools
Powerful embroidery utilities that save time and prevent costly mistakes.
Stitch AssistantRECOMMENDED
Get the exact stabilizer, machine settings, needle, and thread color sequence for every embroidery design you purchase — based on that design's stitch density, dimensions, and color count.
Discover the ease of creating a layout using a background graphic as a template.
BuzzEdit v2 is a stitch file editor that also contains some basic digitizing tools. In this lesson, you will see how easy it is to create a layout using a background graphic as a template. By working in the software, it is very easy to play and try different designs and see the outcome on your monitor screen. By the time you are ready to stitch out the designs, you will feel very comfortable with your placement decisions and the actual size template will ensure that your results at the machine match what you planned at the computer.
BuzzEdit supports many different graphic formats and there are two ways to open a graphic- from the menu choose File & Open Background Graphic or select the icon located on the top menu bar.
This opens the dialog box shown to the left where you can select the graphic file you wish to use.
Click on the [...] button (see arrow) to browse to the graphic file. The dialog box will open with the default view set to icons.
TRICK: In the Graphics Background File dialog box, click on the View menu button at the upper right corner and select Thumbnails from the popup menu to view the graphics as pictures.
The supported graphic formats are listed in the Files of Type pull down menu atthe bottom of this dialog.
Select the graphic you wish to use and select the Open button to return to the Open Background Graphics File dialog box. Here you can choose where to place the selected graphic in the Stitches-in-Space (TM) window and what size it should be.
To center the image in the center of the hoop, click on the Center button.
Fit Hoop button stetches the image to fill the hoop - stretching it to the maximum distance in both dimensions. This will distort the image until you unselect and reselect the "Lock Aspect Ratio" radio button at the bottom of the dialog box.
Left and Top are the distance from these edges of the selected hoop - setting each to 0 places the upper left corner of the graphic at the upper left corner of the displayed hoop.
The Width and Height are the actual size measurements of the graphic you have selected. For an accurate and useful template, you will want this size to match that of the actual graphic you will be embellishing. This value can be typed in or changed using the arrows.
Placing Designs on Background Image
Your graphic will display in the Stitches in Space (TM) window in relation to the selected hoop. You can create a virtual layout of the completed embellished project by inserting and placing your designs on the displayed graphic.
To insert a design into your layout, go to the File menu and select Insert Design.
Using the various editing tools, you can then manipulate the design to create a pleasing result.
Use the Lasso Tool in SPACE to move selection to where you want it to stitch in the hoop.
Select the Freehand Rotate Tool to manipulate the design so that it looks natural.
To accurately reproduce your layout, print out a template to use for design placement before embroidering. Select Print Template from the File menu to open the Print dialog box to create your customized template to use for placement.
Select your printer
Choose your resolution setting - the higher the selection, the more memory it requires and the longer it will take to print. You must choose how "pretty" your template printout will be.
Select what you want to include on the template
Do you want to see the embroidery?
Do you need to see the background graphic?
The rectangle option is most important for multiposition hoops
A cross through the entire hoop is more accurate than just the tick marks
Do you want the design to print looking like it will stitch? This option also requires more memory.
If you want to print this on as iron on transfer, the option to mirror image is available.
Here is a sample printed template - not actual size - to show you that the designs you placed are locked in place in the hoop. Hoop your printed fabric lining up the tick marks in the hoop and put your needle at the starting center crosshair. If your needle is in the center of the cross-hair, you have no choice but to stitch the design elements exactly where you placed them.
A fully functioning 21-day demo version of BuzzEdit v2 can be downloaded from the Software section so that you can try the software and all of its functions. Additional how-to videos are located in the Help menu of the program or can be downloaded separately from the BuzzEdit v2 Educational page (please note that these files are large and may require a high speed internet connection).
Lisa Shaw is th Technical Support Manager for Buzz Tools Inc. and the owner of Bubble's Menagerie, LTD (www.sew-bubbles.com). Her adventure into the wonderful world of machine embroidery began back in 1995 with the purchase of her first combination sewing & embroidery machine. What started out as a hobby, sewing & embellishing vests for holiday craft fairs, has developed into a full time job working from home in the field of embroidery. As an independent teacher for Buzz Tools software programs, she firmly believes that learning should be fun as well as informative. The complimentary backgrounds of mathematics, computer and love for machine embroidery allow her to experiment to solve those "pesky computer glitches" we all run into and have fun in the process. You can contact Lisa through the BuzzTools.com website or at [email protected].